Welcome to Israel Money Diaries. We are asking Olim how they spend their hard-earned money during a one week period — and we’re tracking every last shekel. If you are interested in joining us in this project, please contact [email protected]

Occupation: Counselor at an NGO + Masters Degree Student at Ben Gurion University
Industry: Nonprofit
Age: 27
Number of household members: 1
City: Be’er Sheva
Salary per month (Bruto or before taxes): 9,000
Ongoing financial support: MA Scholarship – 1,775

Monthly Expenses

Rent: 1,200 – living with two roommates
Transportation: 150-200
Health Care (basic health care is covered for all Israeli citizens through the government, but people may choose to supplement with private insurance): 56 for Leumit Zahav
Internet: 22
Electricity: ₪35-70
Water: 23
Municipal (Arnona): 100
Va’ad Bayit: ₪7
Cell Phone: 29
Education: 1,170 for university tuition
Savings: 500

The Diary


9:00 a.m. – Taxi to the car rental place to pick up the jacket I forgot a couple of days ago, and from there to my workplace. Ate free cereal and fruits we have in our office.

11:30 a.m. – Bought “Manat HaShef” meal for lunch, which is the most expensive choice in the cafeteria near my office.

1:30 p.m. – Ate a free yogurt we have in our office.

6:00 p.m. – Headed back home, took a bus ( my Rav Kav is prepaid, but without a Rav-Kav, each bus ride within Beer Sheva costs 4).

8:30 p.m. – Cooked dinner from random stuff I found in my fridge.

Daily Total: ₪85


9:00 a.m. – Took a bus to the office.

10:30 a.m. – Ate a sandwich I prepared last night.

1:00 p.m. – Ate lunch from leftovers from last night’s dinner.

1:30 p.m. – My workplace is very close to the university – I walked to my class (in general, Be’er Sheva is very flat and many walk or bike everywhere).

4:00 p.m. – My coworker picked me up from Ben Gurion University (BGU) with a rented car and we traveled together for a work-related event we had that evening in Jerusalem. My workplace covers car rental and gas.

7:00 p.m. – Ate dinner which was included in the event.

10:00 p.m. – As I needed to be in Jerusalem for work the next day as well, I stayed the night at my friend’s place in Jerusalem.

Daily Total: ₪0


8:45 a.m. –  Drove to work in Jerusalem with the work car rental.

12:00 p.m. – Bought a salad for lunch.

4:00 p.m. – My roommate went grocery shopping (veggies (fresh + frozen), fruit, soy schnitzels, milk, eggs, bread, cookies, cereals, shower gel) It was ₪309 split between the three of us.

6:00 p.m. – I filled up the tank of the rented car (₪230, but will get reimbursed) and drove back to Beer Sheva.

8:00 p.m. – Made a salad for dinner.

Daily Total: ₪135


8:45 a.m. – Drove the rented car to work (my colleague returned it later that day).

9:15 a.m.Ate free cereal we have in our office.

11:30 a.m. – Bought a salad and fish for lunch.

4:30 p.m. – Took a bus back to my apartment.

6:00 p.m. – Made dinner at home.

10:00 p.m. – Went out with my roommates to one of the local pubs. Had hard apple cider and edamame.

Daily Total: ₪94


8:30 a.m. – Went to see a specialized doctor.
₪27 (subsidized cost)

9:30 a.m. – Took a bus to the office.

12:00 p.m. – Ate lunch which I made at home the previous night.

4:00 p.m. – Ate free fruit from the office.

6:00 p.m. – Took a bus to the shopping mall.

7:30 p.m. – Bought new straps for my watch (₪80) and went grocery shopping for Shabbat (₪98), I’m going to be hosting a potluck meal at my place.

8:00 p.m. – I had to charge my Rav Kav when I took the bus back to my apartment.

8:30 p.m. – I made dinner at home and then cooked for Shabbat.

Daily Total: ₪305


10:30 a.m. – Friday! Took a tremp (ride) to Jerusalem for a friend’s wedding. I found the ride through the Be’er Sheva-Jerusalem Facebook tremping board.

2:00 p.m. – I left my wedding gift (₪300) and took a bus back to Beer Sheva (pre-paid now that my Rav Kav is charged. Without a Rav Kav, the 470 bus to Beer Sheva costs 27).

7:10 p.m. – Shabbat Shalom!

8:00 p.m. – Friday night dinner (potluck) with friends from BGU at my place.

Daily Total: ₪320


Shabbat – Spent the day with my roommates at our apartment… Woke up late and had a light lunch of salads and challahs. I went through some books and articles that are relevant for research (thesis), and just chilled the rest of the time…

8:15 p.m. – Motsei Shabbat. One of my friends came over. We watched a movie on my computer and ate some microwave popcorn :)

Daily Total: ₪0


For more questions about personal budgeting, finances, and Aliyah
please connect with our advisors by email at [email protected]

How can we help your Aliyah?