Welcome to Israel Money Diaries.  We are asking Olim how they spend their hard-earned money during a one week period — and we’re tracking every last shekel.  If you are interested in joining us in this project, please contact dafna@nbn.org.il

Occupation: Marketing
Industry: High Tech
Age: 27
Household Members: Two, myself and my husband
City: Tel Aviv
Salary per Month Bruto or before taxes): 9,500
Spouse’s Salary: 23,000

Monthly Expenses

Rent: 6,900 for a two-bedroom
Transportation: 300 – unlimited train card that work reimburses at the end of the month. Husband walks to work or takes his bike
Health Care: We pay for the highest health insurance and private.
Renters Insurance: ₪75 (we pay ₪900 once a year)
Internet: 117
Electricity: 400
Gas: Unsure
Water: Unsure
Municipal (Arnona): 2000 approx.
Va’ad Bayit: 200
Cell Phone: 100
Streaming Services: We use our family’s Netflix
Savings/Pension:
Gym: Kicking boxing class once a week – 240 a month
Community Fees: 10% of income to charity

Read More

The Diary

DAY ONE

7:00 a.m. — Jump out of bed to make it to the bus which takes me to the train. I bought a monthly train pass which cost 300 (my company covers the cost at the end of the month). This covers unlimited buses in Tel Aviv and Airport City for free for the month and includes the train back and forth from the cities. My husband takes his electric bike to work so he doesn’t usually pay for a Rav Kav (bus/train card).

8:30 a.m. — Grab a banana and raisins to eat on the train. Usually, I have a real breakfast in the office because we have a fully stocked kitchen. (Perks of high tech!)

12:30 p.m. — Brought leftovers for lunch and sit at my desk to eat it because Sundays are a busy day in the office. Even if I’m hungry after my lunch, my company has a well-stocked pantry of snacks that I’ll grab from on a daily basis.

6:00 p.m. — Come home and do some things around the house before I walk to my kickboxing class. I try and go once a week!
60

9:00 p.m. — Come home and eat Shabbat leftovers with the hubby, shower and just chill around the house. My husband’s company gives him Tenbis (which is a certain amount of money a month for food) so we don’t need to prepare lunch for him the night before – phew for me!

11:30 p.m. — Have a chilled out Netflix night and go to bed to wake up and do it all over again.

Daily Total: ₪60

DAY TWO

7:00 a.m. — Wake up and take the “free bus” to the train. I grab a croissant and orange juice at the train station before I get on the train. I woke up hungrier than usual and couldn’t wait until work for the free stuff ;)
25

8:30 a.m. — I usually make a Rami Levy order online when I’m on the train to either arrive today or tomorrow, but we did a big shopping last week so at the moment I’m not ordering groceries. The delivery charge is 30, but worth it when you live in a walk up!

12:30 p.m. — Eat lunch from home and hang out with my co-workers in the common space. I then make myself a second coffee of the day for the meetings ahead!

6:00 p.m. — When I get to the train station, I walk around Azrieli a little bit, but don’t buy anything. I walk back home because it’s a beautiful night out in Tel Aviv. I come home and make shakshuka for dinner to go with soup leftover from Shabbat.

9:00 p.m. — My husband has to work late today so I browse Amazon for my next purchases for when he goes to America! Clean up around the house and decide to buy lunch at work the next day, so I don’t need to prepare anything.

11:30 p.m. — Off to bed!

Daily Total: ₪111

DAY THREE

7:00 a.m. — Wake up and grab a banana and water for my travels to work.

9:00 a.m. — Train is a bit delayed today so I grab one of the newspapers that were around to try out the crossword puzzle. I get into the office, make a tea and get straight to work!

1:00 p.m. — Run to the Makolet next door and buy a random assortment of things for lunch ₪30

6 p.m. — I order Rami Levy online to arrive tonight with groceries for the rest of the week and Shabbat. I have chicken in the freezer and other ingredients I’ll use on Shabbat, so it wasn’t such a big order this week, especially because we’re only hosting one meal (₪197). On my way home I stop off at SuperPharm and pick up a bunch of things (one of them being skittles by the counter). Then I rush home because we have a friend from Jerusalem coming for dinner.
₪297

7:30 p.m. — I make Shakshuka and salad for all of us and we have a great time!

11:00 p.m. — Off to bed so I can wake up without being a zombie tomorrow morning.

Daily Total: ₪327

DAY FOUR

7:00 a.m. — Wake up wanting it to be Thursday, but it’s only Wednesday! Grab a bar on the way to work.

9:00 a.m. — Get to work, make myself a strong coffee.

1:00 p.m. — Buy myself extra food at the Makolet that I like to keep by my desk. Eat a sandwich for lunch.
₪24

7:30 p.m. — Long day at work, but rushing home because a friend came in from London. My husband is working late so just girls night out! We go to some trendy bar she wanted to try. I don’t get food because I ate at home, so just buy a drink for myself.
₪15

11:00 p.m. — Off to bed.

Daily Total: 39

DAY FIVE

8:00 a.m. — Wake up a little later today because I’m working from Tel Aviv. I have a few meetings here today, so I don’t travel into the office. Make myself breakfast and start to work.

12:00 p.m. – After my first meeting I grab a slice of pizza on my way to the next meeting. I have my own water bottle on me so I don’t buy a drink.
₪12

7:00 p.m. — After work, my husband and I go to a food festival in Sarona where you can try different tasters for 10. We spend 60 on all different kinds of food around Sarona! I recommend this for a Thursday night, super fun and lots of great music.
₪60

12:00 p.m. — Sleep time

Daily Total: ₪72

DAY SIX

9:00 a.m. — My brother who lives in Tel Aviv comes over for brunch. I make us eggs, cut up veggies, crackers, and guacamole from ingredients we have in the house.

12:00 a.m. — Clean for Shabbat and run errands around the area.

2:00 p.m — Share a frozen yogurt with my husband before Shabbat comes in!
₪34

7:00 p.m. — Invited out to Shabbat Dinner!

Daily Total: 34

DAY SEVEN

9:00 a.m. — Woke up and went to our friends’ house for lunch. We brought a salad that I made from all the veggies we had left over from the week.

12:30 a.m. — Ate a delicious meal with friends!

3:30 p.m. — Read a book and took a nap.

7:00 p.m. — After Shabbat, we cleaned up from the weekend and we made pizza at the house and watched a movie on Netflix!

11:30 p.m. — We had a chill Saturday night which was relaxing and enjoyable.

Daily Total: ₪0

QUESTIONS?

For more questions about personal budgeting, finances, and Aliyah
please connect with our advisors by email at aliyah@nbn.org.il